Give us a call, we'd love to hear from you... 01404 515000

TRAINING WHEELZ REVIEWS

HERE ARE SOME OF THE FANTASTIC REVIEWS THAT WE HAVE RECEIVED

I had heard brilliant things about the instructors about how supportive they are and how encouraging they are, so it seemed like the best place to go to. Over the time I was learning with Training Wheelz my instructor made sure I was comfortable doing all the aspects of driving, making me feel more confident over what I was doing, and helping me loads in areas I needed to improve on. I was given lots of advice for the best resources for my theory test and what I should work on for my practical test. 
Christie, who was my instructor, was incredibly supportive through my whole time using Training Wheelz and helped me build my confidence out on the roads.  They make sure you’re confident on busy roads so for when you drive on them in the future you know what you are doing and how to do it safely. 
I would recommend these driving instructors to anyone currently looking for a driving instructor.

3 weeks ago

When looking for a driving instructor there were a few things that were important to me. The main thing was that the instructor was friendly and easy to talk to. I felt like Christie was both of these things. At first I wasn't sure that I was ready to learn to drive, but as the lessons went on I started to think that this was the right time. I need to learn as it would really benefit me when I am working. Just want to say thank you to Christie and all the team for all you help. I couldn't have done any of it with out your help.

3 weeks ago

“The most important factor in deciding who to learn with was the amount of positive reviews on their website. Other factors included having a good car, friendly, experienced and being able to start my lessons at Exeter College. I enjoyed learning to drive. I had hoped to take less time but Kevin’s experience helped me put in for my test at the right time. I found his teaching methods highly effective. I would definitely recommend Kevin as I passed first time. He was highly knowledgeable and friendly.
What could we have done better to improve our customer service or enhance your learning experience with us? You are too popular! Once you have a regular time that works well each week, but there was not much availability to add in a second lesson.”

3 weeks ago

‘The most important thing for me when choosing my driving instructor was patience as I know that driving isn’t something you just pick up on. I needed someone that would make sure that no matter how much I struggled, I pushed on through. I guess you could say, someone motivational, which Christie certainly was! Furthermore, I needed an instructor who was clear and precise with instructions as I struggle with directions enough as it is. Finally, I needed an instructor who was friendly as there is nothing worse than feeling awkward for 2 hours and making mistakes in front of someone who made me feel awkward enough already! Fortunately, Christie was very clear with instructions, was very professional, but also made me feel so comfortable in the car!
Learning to drive was harder than I expected. I found it challenging during the first few weeks, but soon began to find driving rewarding.
I would recommend Training Wheelz to anyone as I find their methods of teaching very accessible. I thought I would really struggle with learning to drive as it’s a whole new skill and it has always taken me a while to master a skill and driving for me was a very scary thing. My instructor, Christie, pushed me out of my comfort zones in order to stop me feeling so nervous when having to deal with things that usually freaked me out (e.g roundabouts!). Christie really helped me to see past all of that. So thank you very much!!!’

4 weeks ago

Lisa a great instructor, I highly recommend her!

1 month ago

"The most important criteria when choosing my driving instructor was to find someone who is motivating. Also to have someone who is patient and passionate about driving.
Learning to drive was definitely a lot more difficult than I thought! But since I changed to Training Wheelz, it has been an absolutely amazing experience and I really enjoyed driving.
The teaching methods used were perfect. My confidence in driving was really low after failing the test twice with my previous instructor and I got really frustrated with it. But Kevin motivated me and gave me confidence in my driving ability.
I would 100% recommend Kevin. He is a brilliant instructor and someone who is passionate about his job. All the lessons I had with him were really enjoyable."

2 months ago

"The most important factor for me when choosing a driving instructor was that they were friendly, patient, motivating and be a responsible instructor.
Other important things were that they had availability, a car that was easy to drive and comfortable. Good reviews from previous learners was important too.
Learning to drive compare totally meet my expectation. And I love the website that I can log on to practice my theory test. It was very effective. The teaching methods were very flexible and not rigid, it was perfectly suitable for me. Also, I was very impressed with the technology tool (iPad) that Kevin used to explain the road conditions for me.
I would most definitely recommend Kevin as he is very patient and put me at ease, and everything felt comfortable, even though my spoken English is not very good."

2 months ago

"I was a bag of nerves when I first started my lessons with Kevin (Raven) but he was so patient, very helpful and gave me so much confidence on the road. After helping me to pass my test first time I highly recommend Kevin to anyone who wants to start driving lessons."

2 months ago

"The most important factor for me in choosing a driving instructor was mainly how much the driving instructors are flexible with your times within reason obviously. Also, that they are very patient and willing to let us learn at our pace. The price was always going to be a factor which I thought was reasonable but was very good value for the level of training I felt that I was getting from Lisa and any other driving instructors I met during the process of me learning to drive.
I thought learning to drive was going to be much more complicated than it was but it was quite simple and it was just a job of critiquing my small mistakes which I felt took the time.
The teaching methods used were very easy to follow and were very versatile from each manoeuvre to actually driving.
I would most definitely recommend Training Wheelz for the value for money and the overall standard of teaching."

3 months ago

"It was important to me to be able to start off at Westpoint before progressing on to the road. I was also pleased to have my early lessons start from Sidmouth and that they were 2 hours long. I found the easiest part was the mechanics of the car and the rest was getting experience on the road.
Kevin was clear in what we would do in each lesson and things were clearly ex[plained as to why we were doing them. There was a good pace to lessons and the learning was adapted to my changing needs. Lessons always started on time and I got honest feedback to help my progress."

3 months ago

"The most important thing for me when choosing a driving instructor was finding someone who put me at ease when in a bad situation and worked around my work hours. I wanted 2 hour lessons as well. When I first started driving I thought it would be very difficult getting used to all the gears and reading the road signs while driving but it was a lot easier than I first thought. Amazing Kevin made learning to drive so much easier for me with a lot of support and help. I have already recommended Kevin, I can't fault him as he has done so much for me and he has never given up hope that one day I would pass. he made me feel comfortable when driving and always gave me advice and support no matter how many times I said I was going to give up with driving. he always helped me back up and into that drivers seat. I can't thank Kevin enough for everything he has done."

3 months ago

“The most important factor for me in choosing a driving instructor was the cost as I also have to spend money on food and transportation to work. Other factors included availability and location. I work two days a week and as I live in a village I needed to know if I had to travel somewhere for my lessons.
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started to learn to drive but things went pretty smoothly for me. I was pleased with Kevin’s teaching, it was really good – I passed my test first time. He helped me and when something didn’t go quite right he helped me to sort out the reasons and to work out how to go about correcting it.
I would definitely recommend Kevin, as I’ve already said, I passed first time and the learning experience was just so good.”

Cullum Grove
4 months ago

“My most important criteria when choosing who to learn to drive with was that my instructor would be kind and would make me feel comfortable when not knowing to handle things correctly, also an instructor I knew I could trust in teaching me in the highest possible standard. I learnt with Christie who fitted all this criteria perfectly, her knowledge of driving fascinated me each lesson, and I was taught in a way that made me excited for each lesson! She was reliable and made me comfortable within the car, helping me learn what I did wrong if I made a mistake in a kind way. I highly recommend Christie and the team, great driving instructors!”

6 months ago

“Having previously had a test in my home area, the most important factor for me when choosing a driving instructor was that they needed to be very familiar with the area and know the places that are most important to go in a limited amount of time. I also wanted someone who would be friendly and calm, not too serious as that would have put me on edge and not too expensive (I am a student!). It took me longer to pass my test that I had thought it would but, with Kevin’s help, I learnt the roads in Exeter reasonably well and quickly. Kevin’s methods of teaching were excellent. I was really impressed by how well the lessons went and that I passed at the first attempt in Exeter. I was not used to driving on that many big roundabouts!”

Victoria Saunders
6 months ago

The main criteria in choosing a driving school was that they were going to help me improve from the previous times I took lessons and connect with me and truly understand any concerns that I had with my driving. It obviously helped that my mum knew Kevin and trusted that he would see me through. I actually did my lessons with Lisa. Previously having had lessons, I thought I knew what to expect, but this was completely different. I was made to feel completely at ease, not nervous. I actually began to look forward to lessons from the beginning.

I would 100% refer you on to others. I will be doing so for my partner. Lisa was just outstanding; she really improved my confidence from the start. Then week on week would help me work on the kinks then by the next lesson they were ironed out which meant her training methods were clearly working. Actually when I passed my test she reminded me of our first lesson and when I got in to her car, nervous and really unsure about my capability with my driving, how I mentioned I was awful at hill starts. We then went on to practice them and with her taking her time and talking me through it I have become a pro and they have never been a problem. That just goes to show how much faith in myself she has helped me regain. I do not believe I could have done this without her ongoing support and time. Every week has been a pleasure with you Lisa, thank you for always cheering me up and putting a smile on my face, due to potholes and roundabouts. I now know when to use my fog lights and when it’s past 12 o clock I can go in the right hand lane. Remember boys and girls, a driving instructor isn’t just for driving, they are for life.

brittany stevens
6 months ago

The most important criteria for me when choosing a driving school was that I wanted a friendly reliable driving instructor and once speaking to Kevin who was very down to earth and so easy to talk to he passed me on to Lisa! I also wanted to feel comfortable behind the wheel which Lisa easily made me feel from my first lesson until my last. Learning to drive was a daunting thing for me but Lisa eased me into it and I found the whole experience so much easier than what I imagined.

I found Lisa's teaching methods very easy to learn and she would make sure I've understood before moving onto another subject. Lisa was so patient with me and explained everything thoroughly.
I would 100% recommend Lisa and the team they are very friendly and reliable instructors and would recommend them to anyone who is looking to learn to drive.

As far as I am concerned, there was nothing you could have done better as you were great! Just a huge thank you once again on getting me my independence and becoming a driver!

Default Avatar75
6 months ago

The most important criteria for me when looking for a driving instructor was that I wanted the support I felt I needed whilst learning. It was also important that there were good reviews from previous learners and that I would be getting the same instructor every time and they wouldn’t cancel any lessons at short notice or cut any short which has happened to some of my friends with another well known driving school in Exeter.

I expected to take a long time to pass my test so I was shocked at how quickly I picked up each section of learning. I thought I would be scared and nervous for a long time. I can certainly say that I was made to feel at ease on the first day so I was relaxed for every lesson from then on.

I found the teaching methods used very easy and the few I found harder Kevin managed to gently push me past what I thought my limits were and he soon had me on to the next part.
I would highly recommend Kevin to all my friends and family and anyone asking for recommendations on social media sites. Not only was he reliable on every lesson and he never let me down and didn’t give up on me even when I failed my first test or had a bad lesson. He made me feel confident in every lesson and I cannot thank him enough.

7 months ago

The most important factor for me in choosing Training Wheelz was that they were recommended to me by a friend. Other important factors were the price of lessons and that they are local and my instructor was friendly. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started learning to drive and it was, perhaps, harder than I expected. The methods Kevin used were very useful in teaching me techniques that helped with my driving. I would definitely recommend Kevin as I passed! But also I was given confidence and belief in my ability.

Default Avatar75
8 months ago

Initially the main determining factor was the cost and also if the instructor would be able to work around my timetable. Exeter Driver Training definitely wasn’t the cheapest one around. But, what made my mind up was that Kevin took the time to understand what I need and answered all the questions that I had in mind as opposed to other schools that I have contacted previously.

I have a difficult timetable to work around - Kevin was very organised and was very accommodating. And it was important that the instructor knows what is required of the test and was able to help me progress quickly!

I already knew how to drive but have not driven a manual for a really long time. I was surprised that I learnt how to handle a manual again really quickly. And, if I ever have to drive a manual again I think I would be able to handle it well as I have a better understanding on how to drive a manual car.

I am now definitely a better driver than before. Kevin was very clear and always explained everything that I did not understand.

Kevin was a great and experienced instructor. He understood what I needed and I passed! And having the access to the Theory Test Pro test was really helpful as well.

8 months ago

Angie (Mum) - The most important criteria when choosing an instructor for us was availability, price, reviews from previous students and to provide honest advice. Exeter driver training provided these, offering realistic expectations, experience and flexibility.

Dan (Student) - I found the lessons more relaxed than expected and not too strict. The teaching methods used were effective for me as they weren't rigid, our lessons were flexible and tailored to me. I would recommend Christie, as I was keen to go to each lesson and enjoyed learning with her. Christie is reliable, honest and competitive. I wouldn't have changed any of my learning.

9 months ago

Learning to drive with Christie was amazing, she is so patient. I felt comfortable with her from the first day I started lessons. She helped me to overcome fear and nerves about driving...can't thank her enough for all the time she took to help me through everything. I'm so happy and proud that I have passed and I've only got Christie to thank for that. I'm going to miss our lessons and chats. I would definitely recommend to all of my friends and family. Thank you for everything.

9 months ago

After reviewing possible Driving Instructors Online, i decided to go with Exeter Driver Training with Christie Palfrey. I found her very supportive in all my driving lessons and i found her very relaxed and patient with me throughout my lessons. Christie was very flexible around my work commitments. She also gave me the confidence after a while to go ahead with my Driving Test in Exeter.
Just like to say to Christie "Thank you for helping me to Pass my Driving Test!"

9 months ago

I chose Exeter driver training to teach me how to drive due to the fact that they were local. I needed lessons fast as I wanted to pass my test before my baby arrived and they had availability. I had Christie as my driving instructor she made me feel comfortable in the car. I am a shy person and struggle to get along with new people but Christie's friendly attitude made me feel really relaxed. Christie managed to help me pass first time and I would definitely recommend her to others.

9 months ago

I started to learn to drive with another driving school and ended up taking some time out. When I started with Christie I’d had a few failed sessions learning to drive with my parents! However Christie soon put me at ease with her calm, friendly manner and driving became enjoyable (most of the time!) In the time I have been learning to drive with Christie my driving confidence (and hopefully ability!) have increased massively. I have thoroughly enjoyed my lessons and I can’t thank Christie enough for her patience and support in helping me pass my driving test. I would highly recommend learning to drive with Christie.

10 months ago

Not only was Christie very helpful, but she was also friendly and easy to get along with. I would definitely recommend you to anyone thinking about learning to drive! Thanks again for everything!!

10 months ago

Just want to say a massive thank you to you. Without your support I have no doubt that I wouldn't of been able to drive. From the first time I sat behind the wheel I was so nervous, you gave me the confidence to drive. You made me realise I can do it and gave me so much support. From something I dreamed about doing for years but never thought possible you made happen! I will never forget our lessons together and I enjoyed every single minute with your guidance. You truly went above and beyond supporting me. I have no doubt that anyone else teaching me would of failed. Once again thank you Christie!

10 months ago

Christie is a very welcoming instructor, who creates a friendly environment to learn in. She is a good teacher and isn't forceful and can stay calm even when driving becomes stressful. I would definitely recommend her as a driving instructor.

10 months ago

The most important factors in choosing a driving instructor were that I wanted someone local who was able to be flexible about locations to be picked up and dropped off as well as being friendly. I found learning to drive fairly easy to understand as the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. The teaching methods Kevin used were very good and I will use the tips he showed me. I enjoyed being able to learn at my own pace and to go back over things when needed. Kevin is easy to learn with and helps you learn to drive to the best you can without too much pressure.

10 months ago

The most important thing for me was having a driving instructor I could get along with. I also wanted to make sure I had someone who used teaching methods that worked for me. Learning to drive was less scary than I thought it would be and I improved faster than I thought I would. I would definitely recommend Kevin as his calm, friendly approach meant it wasn't at all scary and he helped me get more confident with my driving.

10 months ago

Learning to drive was always something I never thought I'd accomplish, but after a spot of travelling I reviewed my thoughts and decided to tackle my nemesis! Exeter Driver Training was something I saw via Facebook and decided to give them a call. Christie from the word go was always pleasant and supportive. I explained that I never wanted to drive and I had zero confidence, but that was never a problem for Christie. Every week she was consistent, reliable and showed such confidence. To my disbelief I passed first time! Without the constant guidance and reassurance from Christie I never would have achieved something so big. I cannot recommend this lady enough!

10 months ago

I would like to thank Lisa for helping me get my confidence back. She took me on all types of roads and in all weathers. We went on country roads and, eventually, the M5 from Exeter to Taunton which I was not looking forward to. I now feel that my confidence to drive alone is returning and I cannot thank Lisa enough for helping me get to this stage.

10 months ago

I would just like to say a huge thank you to Christie for all her support, friendliness and encouragement that she's given to Natasha. As you know Natasha has her own problems to overcome and Christie has shown great understanding and has boosted Natasha's confidence beyond measure. So thank you once again and we shall recommend the driving school to everyone we can!

Default Avatar75
10 months ago

When choosing a driving instructor the most important thing to me was finding someone who was understanding of me having M.E and bad anxiety in new situations. Having an instructor who was understanding and flexible to my needs. Also helping me deal with my anxiety by letting my mum sit in on my first couple of lessons help to put me at ease. I was very anxious to begin with but Christie soon put me at ease. Once I knew the basics of driving I found it became easier each lesson and I became very comfortable in a car, which meant I was comfortable enough driving at home outside of lessons. I found Christie’s teaching methods easy to follow and always felt comfortable asking questions if there was something I wasn’t sure about. She also arranged a mock test for me with her business partner Kevin so I knew what to expect in the real thing. I would definitely recommend this driving school to others, especially if someone is very nervous about learning as Christie is very friendly and willing to go at your own pace. I don’t think there was anything that could have been improved for me, I felt very at ease with Christie’s guidance.

10 months ago

The most important criteria when choosing a driving instructor was that they weren't really strict and wouldn't make me feel uncomfortable if i did something wrong. Other factors I considered were that they didn't rush me to quickly to put in for my test, but also that I was pushed when necessary. For example having to start some of my lessons from outside college! Learning to drive was a lot harder than I expected but very enjoyable. There's so much you have to think about that I didn't even consider before I started my lessons. I liked the teaching methods used, I especially liked the tracking of my progress on the iPad so I could see where I needed to improve. I would definitely recommend Exeter Driver Training as I really enjoyed learning to drive and it wasn't stressful like other students had told me.I had a great time chatting away and it gives you the experience to get to know someone new.

10 months ago

The most important factor I was looking for in a driving instructor was that I wanted someone who would be patient. The cost of lessons was also an important factor. I didn't really have any expectations of what learning to drive would be like but I found the teaching methods Kevin used were well suited to me. I would particularly recommend him as I did find it a struggle to pass my test but he didn't give up on me.

10 months ago

The most important factor in choosing my driving instructor was that I knew him already and I knew we would be able to have a laugh when things didn't go to plan and that it wasn't the end of the world if this happened! Another factor was that I would be using my time effectively. I enjoyed learning to drive and I found it a challenge, which was a good thing and as I expected! The teaching methods Kevin used were very helpful and there were little tactics that he would teach me which were very helpful. I would most definitely recommend Kevin.

10 months ago

The main reason for choosing Exeter Driver Training was that I already knew my instructor (Kevin) and also that I knew other people who had passed with him so I knew I was in good hands. I was worried at the thought of learning to drive, however I felt comfortable and confident once I started. Kevin helped me not to worry about what other drivers were thinking about me. I found the teaching methods very useful, especially learning the manoeuvres. I have learnt to become a safe and confident driver so I would definitely recommend Kevin.

10 months ago

The most important criteria when choosing my driving instructor was for them to be local and it really helped that I was able to have lessons after work. Other factors I had to consider were price, the length of the lessons and the dates that I was available as I work full time and had to fit my lessons in and around my work life. I expected learning to drive to be really difficult and I am quite a nervous/anxious person but Christie made me feel relaxed and comfortable and it didn't take long until I felt happy driving and it gradually got easier. Christie was a great instructor, I learnt very quickly. I found it really difficult to bay park and Christie helped me to find a point of where to turn and I am now successful almost every time. She is also very calm and relaxed and runs through everything afterwards. She always lets you know if you need to work on something, and then runs through with how to improve. I would recommend to others - I always used to be nervous about sitting in a car with someone and learning to drive (scared of looking stupid and like I will never be able to drive) and Christie made me feel welcome and I was very comfortable. She built up my confidence with driving and always told me that I could do it even when I was convinced that I couldn't.

10 months ago